Fifteen Cavaliers Earn ITA Academic Honors

Fifteen Cavaliers Earn ITA Academic Honors

(TEMPE, Ariz.) - The Intercollegiate Tennis Association announced the 2018 All-Academic Teams and Scholar-Athletes on Tuesday. In all, 735 teams and 4,328 student-athletes across all five divisions of college tennis were honored.

For Walsh, a total of 15 Cavaliers were named between nine women and six men. On the women's side, Maria Kacalova, Sofia Khairutdinova, Katarina Razum, Parvanee Karimpour, Clara Drasch, Natalie Molnar, Danielle Magyarics, Morgan Iser, and Gina Skora were named.

Walsh was tied with Tiffin for second amongst all Division II institutions for the most student-athletes selected. The two G-MAC members were only behind Lincoln Memorial which had 11.

For the men, Jonah Carter, Zachary Grissom, Tim Bruin, Guilherme Carneiro, Vasily Vidmanov, and Clemens Wagner received the honors. The Cavs led the G-MAC for most players selected.

The ITA All-Academic Team award is open to any ITA program that has a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or above (on a 4.00 scale). All varsity letter winners were factored into the cumulative team GPA for the current academic year (including fall 2017 and spring 2018).

In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status a player must meet the following criteria: 1.) be a varsity letter winner, 2.) have a grade point average of at least 3.50 (on a 4.00 scale) for the current academic year, and 3.) have been enrolled at their present school for at least 2 semesters (including freshman through senior year).