2019 WESPY's Nominees

2019 WESPY's Nominees

NORTH CANTON, Ohio - The Walsh University Student Athletic Advisory Committee (SAAC) will hold the third annual WESPY awards on Tuesday (April 16) at 9:00 PM in the Barrette Center. 

SAAC has announced the nominees for the various awards that will be handed out tonight. There will be a live stream of the event located here: https://portal.stretchinternet.com/walsh/.

Here are the categories and the respective nominees.

MVP Female

  • Andra Lehotay (Women's Cross Country/Track)
  • Brianna Sanborn (Women's Soccer)
  • Lauren Loucks (Volleyball)

MVP Male

  • Sterling Christy (Men's Basketball)
  • Andrew Czech (Baseball)
  • Jacob Kernell (Men's Cross Country/Track)

Male Freshman of the Year 

  • JT Shumate (Men's Basketball)
  • Josh Conrad (Men's Cross Country/Track)
  • Kyle Lacey (Men's Lacrosse)

Female Freshman of the Year

  • Hannah McFeeters (Women's Lacrosse)
  • Quionche Carter (Women's Basketball)
  • Taylor Yoder (Softball)

Male International Athlete of the Year

  • Dwight Van Dyke (Men's Soccer)
  • Jakob Riglewski (Men's Tennis)
  • Brent Mitchell (Men's Lacrosse)

Female International Athlete of the Year

  • Sofia Khairutdinova (Women's Tennis)
  • Clara Drasch (Women's Tennis)
  • Paola Ferrario (Volleyball)

Coaching Staff of the Year

  • Women's Soccer
  • Women's Cross Country
  • Women's Soccer

Team of the Year

  • Women's Basketball
  • Women's Cross Country
  • Women's Soccer

Record Breaking Performance of the Year

  • Women's Basketball (First NCAA D2 Tournament Berth, G-MAC Co-Regular Season Champs and G-MAC Tournament Title)
  • Women's Soccer (First NCAA D2 Tournament Berth and Win)
  • Volleyball (Olivia Zanolli-2,000 Assists)

Upset of the Year

  • Men's Basketball (G-MAC Championship Win over #6 Findlay)
  • Women's Soccer (NCAA Tournament Win over Saginaw Valley State)
  • Volleyball (Regular Season Win over #10 Rockhurst)

Adversity Award

  • Lexie Scarton (Women's Basketball)
  • Brianna Coy (Women's Cross Country/Track)
  • MJ Nara (Baseball)

Most Supportive Teammate

  • Joseph Aleong (Men's Tennis)
  • Marcus Brown (Men's Lacrosse)
  • Katie Gray (Softball)

Mr. Cavalier

  • Bryce Short (Football)
  • Jake Selvage (Men's Lacrosse)

Miss Cavalier

  • Michele Vlacovsky (Women's Golf)
  • Brianna Coy (Women's Cross Country/Track)
  • Brittni Clopton (Women's Basketball)
  • Sam Paulson (Women's Lacrosse)

Results will be announced throughout the event and posted on our website following the event.